Womblympic Torch bearer

Posted on

Firstly apologies that after a f(l)urry of posts this blog, has been neglected but its been a busy time for me as a Womble, the Dons being in the league means I am more sought after to help with events in our local community. As well as keeping Wimbledon tidy.

But I felt that I really had to write a blog, about my latest news.

Thanks to being nominated by four different people, which in itself is an honour & something I am very touched by, I have been lucky enough to have been selected to carry the Olympic torch.

I Will be carrying the torch on July 23rd for up to half a mile, I will not know the exact location until 4 weeks before, but it looks like it will be somewhere near the borders of Sutton & Merton.

I am hoping to be able to carry the torch as Haydon the Womble as the charity work I do as Haydon is the reason I was nominated and further more was selected, but the uniform only goes up to a 3Xl way too small for Haydon’s err cuddly physique.

So he may have to turn in to human form, but will change straight back in to Womble mode as soon as he has finished carrying the torch for publicity purposes and to promote the club I am so proud to be mascot for AFC Wimbledon. But either way I will let you all know as soon as I do!

As soon as I know the location I will let people know via here, the club, twitter & Facebook as it would be amazing to see people waving the yellow and Blue of AFC Wimbledon along the route.

The full route can be seen here:

http://www.london2012.com/news/2012/03/london-2012-confirms-olympic-flame-torchbearers-and-street-routeet.php

About haydonnews

I am AFC Wimbledon's official mascot, I can be seen at every Saturday home game & away games if I am invited. I also take part in various mascot events from mascot races to cricket! I have taken part in Antony Gormleys One & Other project & ran the London Marathon.

Leave a comment